CS371p Spring 2022 Blog #2: Lilia Li

Lilia Li
2 min readJan 30, 2022

--

  1. What did you do this past week?

This past week I made sure to catch up on all of the lectures and the information from the syllabus because I was added into the class off the waitlist pretty recently. I also made sure to install the Docker image for this class so I can access the toolchain for future projects, so now I feel pretty much caught up on everything from the first week of school!

2. What’s in your way?

Right now there’s nothing in my way. I’m hoping to get more comfortable with C++ since it is a new language for me but hopefully, with the similarities it has with other languages this should not be too big of a problem.

3. What will you do next week?

Next week I will start working on the Collatz program. I have my code from SWE that I can reference so hopefully this will not take too long! I will need to get familiar with all of the Git version control tools that we used in SWE such as continuous integration (CI) as well as merge requests.

4. What did you think of Paper #1: Syllabus?

The new grading scheme was confusing to me at first, but I think I’m becoming more comfortable with it and will probably be used to it pretty soon! I can see why this type of grading scheme is important for ensuring that all aspects of the class are covered to achieve a good grade. Other than that everything else was very clear and pretty standard.

5. What was your experience of assertions and Collatz? (this question will vary, week to week)

Assertions made sense to me since their concept is pretty much the same as in other languages in that they are good for catching programmer errors but not great for testing or user errors. I also have experience with Collatz from SWE so this was not a big surprise for me!

6. What made you happy this week?

I had a lot of fun at my friend’s birthday party and a student org party this weekend! At the org party, we also celebrated everyone’s birthday from this past break including mine and it was really sweet!

7. What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Make sure you have an effective and ergonomic setup for working/coding! It makes such a big difference.

--

--